Bluewater Anglers Summer Walleye Derby
August 16/17 2019

Event News and Communications

There were a total of 85 entrants in this year’s Walleye Derby. This was a fair bit lower than last year’s record setting 133 tickets sold. Despite the great weather, it seems anglers weren’t confident they could catch a lunker. A total of 21 fish were entered in this 'single biggest fish' event, about half as many as last year. The lake had calmed down by Friday, but the water was still a little murky.

The winners of the 2019 Walleye Derby are:

1st          Norm Bradley     1.41 kg                 $500   
2nd        Kevin Somes       1.32 kg                 $250
3rd         Brian Somes        1.28 kg                 $125
4th         Larry Doan          1.24 kg                 $100
5th         Cody Spinks         1.15 kg                 $50
6th         Ron Bramham    1.07 kg                 $25
7th         Carl Mercer         1.02 kg                 $25
8th         Chris Garwood   0.91 kg                 $25
9th         Carl MacMullen 0.90 kg                 $25
10th       Dave Ryan           0.81 kg                 $25

Kevin Somes also won the additional $100 prize for the largest fish entered by a Bluewater Anglers member.

A total of 5 draw prizes from The Outdoorsman were awarded to derby participants present at the weigh-in. Congratulations to the winners!

Paul Burgess, Village of Point Edward Councillor, was present to award the first place $500 cheque to Norm Bradley. The Village of Point Edward has sponsored the first place prize for this event for several years. The Bluewater Anglers are very appreciative of the Village of Point Edward’s support for this community event.

Emma from CHOK was also present to promote the BWA Club on Social media and was handing out Tim Cards to all of the volunteers.

Hot dogs and pop were available to all participants at the weigh-in. Thanks to Larry Doan and Gerry Lanteigne for their culinary expertise.

Special thanks to our other members on site helping out, including Bob Huggett, Lou Dallaire, Dennis Mather, and Bob Daly. Apologies if I’ve missed anyone else.

We hope to see everybody again at next year’s Walleye Derby!

Walleye derby winners

Walleye winner


© 2017 Bluewater Anglers. All Rights Reserved.